Donate with PayPal to help keep UKS online!

Go Back   UKScrappers > Forum > UKScrappers > Cardmaking

Notices

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Dedicated Scrapper
    View Gallery

Trader Rating: (0)

Which adhesives to use?

Hello everyone,
    I am relatively new to card making. I have made few quite unprofessional cards til now, but really enjoyed my time doing it, so I have a bit maybe stupid question for all of you who are far ahead than me
    What kind of adhesives do you prefer using and why? I can see such a variety that I am not sure what exactly should buy. I am thinking of these that look like a gun in the hand and produce something like a double sided tape when are already over the paper....I hope you can understand what I mean What criteria should I look for when choosing?
    Any help will be apreciated
    Lidi

View Gallery

Trader Rating: (14)
    I like the ATG, which the the big yellow tape gun you've probably seen. Only drawback with it is that it sticks INSTANTLY so if I'm trying to position a panel or whatever just right on a card, I run a cheapie glue stick over the tape and this gives me some playing time.

I think a tape runner of some sort is ideal for cards because it's much less messy than other adhesives and sticks well.

I also use Glossy Accents for small bits like gems or metal, and there is usually some foam tape somewhere on my cards.

The great thing about cardmaking is that nothing needs to be acid-free!

Nutter Extraordinaire!! scrappydiva's Avatar
    View Gallery

Trader Rating: (12)
    I like the ATG too, but it can be a bit huge and daunting for new crafters. It also does stick instantly so you can't reposition anything. If I want to reposition something OR if I need to pack something smaller (ie. for a crop etc.) then I love the Stampin' Up Snail adhesive. Once you get to 10 posts you can PM HysteriCAL as she is a demo and a sponsor on here and she can get you some ordered if you want.