Donate with PayPal to help keep UKS online!

Go Back   UKScrappers > Forum > UKScrappers > Cardmaking

Notices

View Gallery

Trader Rating: (0)

Question Cuttlebug advice please

Hi,

I'm quite new to card making. I do dog silhouettes that I trace from photos, so that each breed is anatomically correct and recognisable even as a silhouette. I have to cut each one by hand, which is time consuming and fiddly.

I've just stumbled across the cuttlebug machine and wonder if it will help me. I get how the embossing works- you sandwich the paper/card between a positive and negative image and squash it. But how does the die cutting work? I don't understand gow the shape is cut. Would I be able to make my own dies of the dogs I want?

Sorry if I'm being a bit dense, but the machines are quite expensive, so I don't want to buy one if it will end up being useless to me.

Help please!

Laura.

View Gallery

Trader Rating: (51)
    Laura, the dies are sort of padded and then have a metal shape hidden away thats does the cut. I dont think you would be able to make your own dies, but perhaps someone else would be able to come along to tell us otherwise.
    12 day of Christmas swap

scrapping in the tropics, but my heart belongs in Wales arianwen's Avatar
    View Gallery

Trader Rating: (1)
    Hi

The cutting dies work by having a blade in the shape of the image embedded in the foamy bit (if that makes sense)

There are a few dog dies I've seen, from different manufacturers, and the CB will be able to cut them all.

I think some people have had custom made dies, but it's not something I've looked into.

There is a CB social group where you will get loads more info
    Fairytales do not teach children that dragons exist. They already know that. Fairytales teach children that dragons can be conquered.

View Gallery

Trader Rating: (29)