PDA

View Full Version : Warning


Lucille
31-12-2005, 05:43 PM
I have just received this from one of my mailing list -

have seen in the latest copy of "Which?" that the GRO has put out a
warning that it has received complaints about website www.gov-certificates.co.uk
from people believing this to be an official government website. "Which?"
itself has heard from some of its readers of cases where money has been sent
to this website and nothing received. GRO (website: www.gro.gov.uk) warns
people to use only official websites to obtain certificates. BE WARNED!

This was followed by another message with a list of their charges :o :o so please be careful.

Jab
31-12-2005, 07:03 PM
I actually looked at that site last week, it was the top site that came up on a Google search for birth certificates. £23 for normal (20 odd days) delivery and £50 for fast delivery, yeah right!

Scrapcomber
31-12-2005, 07:13 PM
23 for normal (20 odd days) delivery and £50 for fast delivery, yeah right!
Even if the site was genuinely trying to help, at those prices people should hear warning bells

Lucille
31-12-2005, 07:40 PM
I ordered from them when I first started searching, back then they charged the same for a certificate as Southport. Then they put up the prices and I discovered local registry offices, which were cheaper than Southport.

The sad thing is people must be using them or they would not be in business.

Scrappy~Sarah
17-01-2006, 11:12 PM
As with all websites - ask questions from friends like on here - if it sounds too good to be true or a bit fishy it most possibly is (but there are good ones out there - ask friends for advice)
<_<

cewart
28-02-2008, 11:36 AM
This thread has been dormant for some time but if anyone is listening do not use it!!!!! It seems to be French and is the most appalling website I have used. After 3-4 months of trying to get a birth certificate they have said they will refund me. 3 days later...........

Try anthing but this site I implore you:stop: